(Review) Bath & Body Works’ Aromatherapy Sugar Scrub

intro picUnfortunately, body care is not something my lazy self does. I barely moisturize and sunscreen is often forgotten. So, you might understand the need for a superhero body care product that can do it all. This scrub might not be that but I actually think it comes pretty close.

So, yes, this is going to be a rave review (with some constructive criticisms of course). I’ve been using this product for nearly a year and I am very pleased with the results. So, let’s break it down.

The Packaging?

close up oh wow

  • Jar = Okay, finnnne I’ll deal with it 😦
  • Lid = NO. D:
  • I beg for ridges to be added to the lid. Please. 
  • Really, anything to make the lid easier to grab onto.
  • This scrub is super oily and messy. I have to use my towel that’s hung over my curtain pole to take off the lid, cause wet hands and oils do not create friction.
  • It’s cheap okay? They can do better.
  • If they could somehow make this formula work in a tube, life would be simply wonderful.

How to Use?

sugar in action

  • Please note: this is my preferred method. There are others should you not like mine.
  • Save this sucker for last in your regular shower routine.
  • Since the sugar crystals fall to the bottom of the container, mix or shake the jar for the contents to blend.
  • Apply the mixture onto body and rub in circular motions.
  • Wash off sugar bits and don’t try to rub off the remaining oil.
  • Stop your shower, dry off a bit and tad dah. Smooth skin.
  • Warning: I’ve had trouble putting on body butter afterward; it balled up 😦
  • BUT, I feel like the oil left on your skin is plenty good as a moisturizer.
  • I take my showers at night for numerous reasons, this being one of them because the oil doesn’t absorb into your skin fast and I don’t like feeling oily during the day.

The Performance?

ingred plus packaging

  • I don’t think the ingredients list is stellar, to be completely honest.
  • Mineral Oil is second on the list. I don’t personally have troubles with it, but I know a lot of people do.
  • I think a few of the oils in here aren’t good for you. For example, I’m pretty sure Peppermint Oil is a skin irritant, and I think certain oils make you more prone to sun damage. Again, excuse my lazy self, but I don’t feel like going through everything and listing the major issues. The paranoids out there are free to look it up! Google is your friend.
  • Then again, anything scented is supposed to have irritants in it. Meh, you pick your battles.
  • And these scrubs won that battle because they smell awesome. These come in various lovely scents to suit whatever your preferences are. My personal favourites are the Orange Ginger and Eucalyptus Spearmint scents!
  • Are these really therapeutic? Not sure. I just like the smell.
  • The effect of this product is pretty awesome. I step out the shower with the oil still hanging on, sleep the night away and wake up with much noticeably smoother skin.
  • Over-exfoliating isn’t good for you either, so not recommended for every day use. I use this every second shower, which is every fourth day.

Repurchase?

  • Yes sir/mam
  • The overall effect of the scrub shadows its crap packaging and complete messiness.
  • My body is soft. And stays soft. Less ingrown hairs too (I’m very much prone to those). Awesomeness, okay.
  • The price is a little steep (16 US$), but Bath & Body Works has some very frequent and very weird sales. The most recent one I was fortunate to get was buy two, get two free. So, there you go. Four jars at 8$ each.
  • Each jar lasts, according to my every four days of usage, about 3 months. This varies based on your sugar/oil combo. More oil, less sugar = last longer. More sugar, less oil = gonna need a new one sooner.

That’s all. Hope you give this a shot and love it like I do. Annnd, if you don’t trust me still, I also have another close friend who swears by this product too. Woot woot.

Much love,
Nadine, T.M.E

ps: This post was sent to you from a small town (pop: 3500) where my New Brunswick grandparents are from.  Can you believe my grandpa has FIBER OPTIC internet? Crazy. And I thought I wouldn’t even have cell reception. City girl naivety. Do excuse me.

Leave a Reply

