Topbox May 2014 Opening!

Intro topbox

 

Another month brings another Topbox~ Let’s have a look inside, shall we?

This month, the typical cardboard cylinder that holds the samples was swapped with this ‘reusable organza bag’. Why you ask? It’s earth month! So, basically there were no trees harmed with this box’s packaging. Or something like that.

DSC02022

 

Index Card

Index Card

 

DSC02020
There was a Lancôme special with this month’s box. That little black Lancôme circle is actually a small container, which you can fill at any Hudson’s Bay’s Lancôme counter with a foundation of your choice. Kind of a bonus sample, with legwork involved.

Onto the actual samples now! Let’s go from least favourite to most.

Kinetic’s Nail Colors, in Crazy Daizy

nail polish

  •  Index card states: “Apply one or two coats as needed for beautiful finish. 15ml $9. Available at kineticsnails.com and in stores near you soon.”
  • 😦 Another nail polish this month. And I very much dislike the colour. Boo.
  • The pigmentation seems great, though I haven’t tried it on my nails.
  • Throwing this to a friend. Hopefully they’ll catch it.

Elizabeth Arden’s Visible Difference Skin Balancing Lotion SPF 15

lotion

  • Index card states: ” Everyone’s skin has its own ideal moisture level. Help maintain yours all day with this oil-free, skin balancing lotion for combination skin. SPF 15 helps protect your skin from sun damage. Clinically and dermatologist tested. Non-comedogenic. 50ml $48. Available at Shoppers Drug Mart, Hudson’s Bay, Sears & London Drugs.”
  • Nawww, now ain’t that the cutest packaging? ‘Cept the lid comes off really easily.
  • Smells like freshly washed vegetables. I like.
  • Thin and absorbed pretty quickly into my hand. My oily face may like this stuff.
  • The blurb makes me roll my eyes. I see it was tested, but a little elaboration? Assumptions are silly things! Also, did you know that any ‘non-comedogenic’ (AKA non-pore-clogging) claims are really full of bologna? According to Paula Begoun over at Paula’s Choice, there are no regulations or standards on what truly classifies as ‘non-comedogenic’. So, really, any regular Joe can claim their product is non-comedogenic and get away scot-off. Feel free to read Paula’s False Cosmetic Claims for more bologna. Yum.
  • But, does that mean this product clogs pores? Who knows.
  • Am I over critical of Elizabeth Arden? Yes.

Lancôme Paris’ Hypnôse Doll Lashes in 01 So Black!

mascara

  • Index card states: “Apply two coats and instantly increase lash volume up to 6 times. 6.5ml $31.50 Available at Hudson’s Bay, Sephora, and Lancome.ca”
  • I love it when mascara claims get all mathematical. It gives me a good laugh.
  • I think I’ll like this. The brush is a little huge and I don’t always have great luck with those.
  • The tiny bristles at the tip look like a lower lashes’ wet dream.
  • Expensive mascara samples are a fav. Because there’s no way I can rationalize spending that much money on a mascara when I get along fine with the drugstore brands. But still, the inner-wants get fulfilled. Yay.

Benefit Cosmetics’ Posiebalm- Hydrating Tinted Lip Balm

lip balm

  • Index card states: “Wear this new hydrating balm alone for a sheer kiss of color…or glide on over your favourite tint for moisturizing & conditioning boost. 3g $22 Available in 4 shades, at Sephora, Shoppers Drug Mart & Murale.”
  • I love tinted lip balms. Give them all to me.
  • Such cute packaging, Benefit, you a genius.
  • I wish there was a little more to the sample. Is that asking too much?
  • When they said ‘sheer kiss of color’, they sure as hell meant it. Barely tinted. Bareeeely.
  • But, appropriately moisturizing nonetheless. I do like.
  • FYI, if blurb didn’t hint enough already, each balm has it’s matching lip&cheek tint.

And that’s all folks. Hope your eyes were slightly if at all entertained.

But before I go, here’s my cat again. Cause he just loves Topbox that much apparently.

Fact: Fluffy's a lady killer.

Fact: Fluffy’s a lady killer.

Much love,
Nadine, T.M.E

2 thoughts on “Topbox May 2014 Opening!

  1. I really want to try Posie balm! It looks so great, and I love tinted lip balms. And your cat is super cute (I’m kind of a crazy cat lady).

Leave a Reply

